Menu:

 

I just saw the Jeff Skolls produced movie Fast Food Nation and it struck me as very illustrative of how we have landed ourselves in the current credit crisis and global economic meltdown. Somewhere on our path towards industrialized modernity, we have forgotten what matters and what is important.Our attention has fixed itself on materialism and consumption. Consumption requires very little of us. I can't think of a more lazy activity to pass the time and Western culture has become synonymous with this laziest of endeavors. But what is even more disturbing is how this seemingly innocuous activity is in fact harming our economic stability and social infrastructure with the boomerang effect of unemployment; every day a different company announces more layoffs.
One of my favorite lines from the movie is when rancher Kris Kristofferson points out to hamburger fast foodchain marketing executive Greg Kinnear that the dirty state of the meat packing industry and presumably our society isn't about being good or evil, it is the story of a machine that doesn't care if it destroys animals, people or anything that stands in its way and all for more pennies on the pound.
And all I want to know is how did we get here? And isn't this current shakedown an opportunity for us to readust our lifestyles and our unsustainable expectations?
This doesn't even begin to touch one of the major storylines of the film which follows the journey of Mexicans into the promised land of the US. The machine depends on the abundant availability of vulnerable and needy humans to feed its insatiable appetite and greed. In this unregulated mechanism of capitalism, no one is safe. I can't help but feel that as human beings we need to work with each other more and stop seeing each other as floating dollar signs and competitors for resources. It appears that we have not strayed very far from the cave; however, now is our chance to stop and reflect on where we have landed and where we aspire to head next. We do not need to be a machine. It is our choice and our responsibility to do better for ourselves and for others and the planet.

Am I having a crisis of conscience? Yes. I want to believe that we are capable of better, although right now much of the evidence says otherwise.

1/18/2009 03:53:21 am

=) you never change do you ?

anyway YES we are capable of the better - and there is a lot of great things happening these days as well - In time of crisis I think that people tend to look inwards - and I think it's important to notise that it's not only us "people" doing good stuff, it's also companies and governments too.

Maybe I am just a total optimist - BUT for the sake of my children I need to believe that we have the capability for turning this around - Heck I am not going to let humanity and the world down =)

Reply
1/18/2009 03:53:45 am

=) you never change do you ?

anyway YES we are capable of the better - and there is a lot of great things happening these days as well - In time of crisis I think that people tend to look inwards - and I think it's important to notise that it's not only us "people" doing good stuff, it's also companies and governments too.

Maybe I am just a total optimist - BUT for the sake of my children I need to believe that we have the capability for turning this around - Heck I am not going to let humanity and the world down =)

Reply
5/27/2009 05:28:11 pm

Visit www.planetgreen.weebly.com and check us out on Twitter! Leave a comment on our blog.

I didn't see the movie or read the book, but I want to.

Reply
10/31/2010 05:01:44 pm

You actually provided us so detail information.that may be excellent for us to discover a little something.numerous comments I noticed almost decided with you.Excellent luck with your lifestyle.

Reply
11/2/2010 01:30:21 pm

Wonderful Weblog! Incredibly useful, I value each of the info that you simply shared with me incredibly significantly and I also bookmarked this on dig as well. Take care and I’ll be back again to examine extra inside long term.

Reply
11/2/2010 01:50:37 pm

Hello dear friend, just wanted to tell you that your blog is very good, the images they use are nice and very well explained information, your blog is different, thanks for all, greetings!

Reply
11/3/2010 11:03:24 am

Spend some time thinking about your current job. This is necessary.

Reply
11/5/2010 01:17:20 pm

The development of economy must remain stable. Technology is a booming sector of the economy. The traffic road should develop with the economy. Do you have something in common with my viewpoint?

Reply
11/7/2010 10:45:22 am

Buddy message. Hearts sweet. Only sentence. Taste years. Upset boredom. GaoXingXi add. Lost. Reset sail. Festival holiday. CARDS repeatedly. Happy satisfactory. Help lengthen people's lives. Make friends. Mentor. Again find friends online. As see the blue sky.

Reply



Leave a Reply.