Menu:

 

This morning as I approached the office and made my regular departure from M&S with banana and yogourt in hand, I felt Rob watching over my shoulder as I passed by a bearded fellow selling The Big Issue, and so I decided to stop and purchase a copy. The happy beard thanked me, and then asked me if I was American. This is a regular occurence for Canadians in Europe. Just the other night a taxi only took Rob, a Canadian friend, and I on as long as we promised not to vote for the current US administration. Rob had to tell him this was not possible as we were Canadian and almost went as far as pointing out that a third term was as likely as beavers not building damns, but restrained himself.

I told my bearded friend, nope, I'm Canadian. To which he tisked and observed that Americans were tighter than Canadians, and in general we were a sincere community of people. However, he was much agrieved by our treatment and clubbing of the seals, who in his mind deserved a better fate. I could not counter his point but offered that this did not represent the interest of every Canadian countryman.

He then remarked that from Northern Scotland and Inverness one could see the energy sparks fly every time a seal was clubbed in Canada. I had to conceal a smile, but could imagine the bright flare as he described it.

As a result he told me he had not bought Canadian produce since. I wanted to ask him what manner of Canadian produce he had managed to buy in the UK, but instead decided to wish him well and was on my way again with new copy of the Big Issue.






Leave a Reply.